The podcast where we look at the world of film from a variety of different angles

BP075 Mutiny on the Bounty (1935)

Best Pick with John Dorney, Jessica Regan and Tom Salinsky

Episode 75: Mutiny on the Bounty (1935)

Released 2 December 2020

For this episode, we watched Mutiny on the Bounty, written by Talbot Jennings, Jules Furthman and Carey Wilson based on the novel by Charles Nordhoff and James Norman Hall. It was directed by Frank Lloyd and starred Charles Laughton, Clark Gable and Franchot Tone (all nominated). It was also nominated for its screenplay, its music, its editing and Lloyd as Best Director but Best Picture was its only win, making it the third and most recent Best Picture winner to win no other Oscars.

Next time we will be discussing The Hurt Locker. If you want to watch it before listening to the next episode you can buy the DVD or Blu-Ray on, or, or you can download it via iTunes (UK) or iTunes (USA).

To send in your questions, comments, thoughts and ideas, you can join our Facebook group, Tweet us on @bestpickpod or email us on You can also Tweet us individually, @MrJohnDorney, @ItsJessRegan or @TomSalinsky.

You should also visit our website at and sign up to our mailing list to get notified as soon as a new episode is released. Just follow this link:

If you enjoy this podcast and you'd like to help us to continue to make it, you can now support us on Patreon for as little as £2.50 per month. Thanks go to all of the following lovely people who have already done that.

Alex Frith, Alex Wilson, Andrew Straw, Ann Blake, Anna Barker, Anna Coombs, Anna Elizabeth Rawles, Anna Jackson, Anna Joerschke, Anna Smith, Anne Dellamaria, Annmarie Gray, Ben Squires, Blanaid O’Regan, Brad Morrison, Caroline Moyes Matheou, Catherine Jewkes, Charlotte, Claire Carr, Claire Creighton, Daina Aspin, Darren Williams, Dave Kloc, David Hanneford, Drew Milloy, Elis Bebb, Elizabeth McCollum, Eloise Lowe, Elspeth Reay, Emmet Jackson, Esther de Lange, Flora, Helen Cousins, Helle Rasmussen, Henry Bushell, Ian C Lau, James Murray, Jane Coulson, Jess McGinn, Jo B, Joanne Hayden, Johanna Commins, Jonquil Coy, Joy Wilkinson, Juan Ageitos, Judi Cox, Julie Dirksen, Kate Butler, Kath, Katy Espie, Kelli Prime, Kirsten Marie Oeveraas, Laura Lundy, Lawson Howling, Linda Lengle, Lisa Gillespie, Lucinda Baron von Parker, Martin Korshøj Petersen, Matheus Mocelin Carvalho, Michael Thomas, Michael Walker, Michael Wilson, Ms Rebecca K O’Dwyer, nötnflötn, Nick Hetherington, Olivia, Peter, Rachel Foster, Richard Ewart, Richard Puttick, Robert Kidwell, Robert Orzalli, Rohan Newton, Ruth, Sally Grant, Sam Elliott, Simon Ash, Sladjana Ivanis, Tim Gowen, Tom Stockton, Vedhas Hirwe, Zarah Daniel.

< Previous episode Next episode >